page 1
page 2
page 3
page 4
page 5
page 6
page 7
page 8
page 9
page 10
page 11
page 12
page 13
page 14
page 15
page 16
page 17
page 18
page 19
page 20
page 21
page 22
page 23
page 24
page 25
page 26
page 27
page 28
page 29
page 30
page 31
page 32
page 33
page 34
page 35
page 36
page 37
page 38
page 39
page 40
page 41
page 42
page 43
page 44
page 45
page 46
page 47
page 48
page 49
page 50
page 51
page 52
page 53
page 54
page 55
page 56
page 57
page 58
page 59
page 60
page 61
page 62
page 63
page 64
page 65
page 66
page 67
page 68
page 69
page 70
page 71
page 72
page 73
page 74
page 75
page 76

42NADFAS REVIEW / SPRING 2011www.nadfas.org.ukshortage - Fawley Bottom had noelectricity until 1958. When Husseyinvited them to Scotney he tellinglyremarked, "I think the scenery wouldentertain you". In January 1945, Hussey had writtenthat Piper was the first artist technicallyand psychologically equipped totransform the essence of a countryhouse into a work of art. Photographsand no fewer than 17 watercolours,paintings and lithographs of both theruined castle and the new house atScotney are shown around the propertywhich inspired them, as well as materialexploring and detailing their friendshipand Piper's own methodical use ofCountry Lifearticles. The third venue, the Tunbridge WellsMuseum and Art Gallery, hosts all thecommissions for tapestries, stainedglass, stage sets, vestments and thenew series of Shell County GuidesthatPiper jointly edited with Betjeman, forwhich he supplied photographs, amodernist font, as well as sketches and drawings. First published in 1934the series was then revived andtransformed by both men, assisted byPiper's son, Edward, in the 1950s. TheHasselblad 120mm camera that bothfather and son used is on display. Theseries was a loss leader financially andthe petroleum company lost interest inthe direction it took. It ran until 1985when Piper failed to broker a deal tokeep it in print. Also at Tunbridge Wells visitors will be drawn into the world of threeGlyndebourne opera productions (The English Opera Group productionsof The Rape of Lucretia(1946), Albert Herring(1947) and Don Giovanni) and that of High Church art with the designs for the tapestry and high Mass set commissioned by Walter Hussey for Chichestercathedral (1965/1966). Here also are the 1983 cartoons for two memorialwindows, at Lamberhurst St Mary andFirle St Peter.The Rapere-opened the Sussexopera house season after the grey years of the World War II. Piperheightened Benjamin Britten's Greekchoric work by a strong use of colours in the costume design: ForGeneral Collatinus, "a good, positive,constant red"; for troublemaker Junius, "a pictorially trouble-provokingpink"; and for Tarquinius, "a scurrilous,bluebottle greenish blue". Critics enjoyed the "stylised late-Victorianprofusion" (Desmond Shawe-Taylor) of the sets for the village opera thatfollowed. He had initially turned downdesigning his favourite Mozart opera for Carl Ebert but when Oliver Messel fell ill he took over, half reluctantly.Before the opening night he confidedthat he had come to the conclusion"that the opera is such a unity that it is best done without any scenery at all... It is only feeble theatricalconventions that make scenerynecessary at all".When Walter Hussey, the millionaireDean of Chichester, died, his extensivecollections passed to Pallant House in Chichester, which has generouslymade available all the material for thecathedral's Trinitarian tapestry and the mass vestments that werecommissioned a year later in 1966. Only the life-size cartoon for the tapestryitself, which is on display at the V&A inLondon, is missing. The vibrancy of the colours that sodelighted the Glyndebourne audiencesin 1946 is here writ large and to this day the tapestry makes an excitingbackdrop to the nave altar in Chichester,hanging in the seven canopied lancetsof the 1910 wooden screen. Thetapestry was woven near Aubusson inFrance at a cost of £3,269. The sidepanels depict the four elements with the symbols of the Four Evangelists Above:Houseson the Front1932 Left:Design for backcloth for'The Rape of Lucretia'1946Right: Clymping1953JOHN PIPER

www.nadfas.org.ukNADFAS REVIEW / SPRING 201143and the early designs show that Piper at first omitted the great blaze of thewhite sunburst that was introduced torepresent God the Father following adoctrinal objection of an otherwiseincomplete Trinity.The designs for the window atLamberhurst, and for the Gage windowat Firle, form a fitting coda to theexhibition as they are among Piper's last works in a medium he loved. Piper's own deeply held view was that Christian artists ("sculptors, wall-painters and glass-painters") neverindulged in pure abstraction; "theirabstraction", he wrote in 1938, "such as it is, is always subservient to an end- the Christian end, as it happened".The window designs match bothabstract and more figurative elements to harmonise this neo-Romantic view of the world. JOHN PIPER IN KENT & SUSSEX9 March -21 May 2011 Scotney Castle, Lamberhurst, KentAdmission free for National Trustmembers; charge for non members;discounted for visitors to the otherexhibition venuesOpen: Wed to Sun: garden and estate11am-5.30pm; house: 11am-5pm;old castle: 11am-3pm. Tel: 01892 893820 Email: Scotneycastle@nationaltrust.org.ukPiper's photographs, prints andpaintings of Scotney, the families'correspondence and Piper's collectionof interesting Country Lifearticles, withhandwritten index and ChristopherHussey's sketchbook with a drawing ofFarley Farm House, are displayed here.There will be an exhibition in the smalldining room, but most of the materialwill be spread around the house. Visit the nearby parish church ofLamberhurst St Mary to see the deRougemont stained glass window. Open daily 8.15am-4pm unless there are special services. To check,please call 01892 890417 or emaildaphne@parishoffice.info Tunbridge Wells Museum and ArtGallery, Tunbridge Wells, KentAdmission freeOpen: Mon to Sat: 9.30am-5pm;Sun: 10am-4pm (closed bank holidaysand Easter Saturday)Tel: 01892 554171 Email: museum@tunbridgewells.gov.ukAll the commissions for tapestry, stainedglass, vestments, stage sets, the ShellCounty Guidesand sketch books whichrecord Piper's cycling journeys throughthe southeast will be shown here.Mascalls Gallery, Mascalls School,Paddock Wood, KentAdmission freeOpen: Mon to Thu: 10am-5pm; Fri and Sat: 11am-4pm. The gallery is inthe school grounds with limited parking.Tel: 01892 839039 Email: info@mascallsgallery.orgPiper's paintings and graphic worksfrom 1930-1984 will be shown here.Another summer exhibition at HerefordMuseum and Art Gallery(25 Jun-31Aug; free) will also celebrate Piper'sfriendships and collaborative work withcraftsmen and designers in fields asdiverse as fireworks and mosaics, printand textiles, wallpapers and fibreglass.JOHN PIPER