page 1
page 2
page 3
page 4
page 5
page 6
page 7
page 8
page 9
page 10
page 11
page 12
page 13
page 14
page 15
page 16
page 17
page 18
page 19
page 20
page 21
page 22
page 23
page 24
page 25
page 26
page 27
page 28
page 29
page 30
page 31
page 32
page 33
page 34
page 35
page 36
page 37
page 38
page 39
page 40
page 41
page 42
page 43
page 44
page 45
page 46
page 47
page 48
page 49
page 50
page 51
page 52
page 53
page 54
page 55
page 56
page 57
page 58
page 59
page 60
page 61
page 62
page 63
page 64
page 65
page 66
page 67
page 68
page 69
page 70
page 71
page 72
page 73
page 74
page 75
page 76
page 77
page 78
page 79
page 80
page 81
page 82
page 83
page 84

PARALYMPICGAMESPROGRAMMEFINALISEDThe final session of the46th InternationalParalympic Committee (IPC)Governing Board (GB)concluded after three daysof meetings in Beijing.BOCOG presented its latestupdates for the Beijing 2008 ParalympicGames in various areas, including Accessibility,Transport, Accommodation, Ticketing andVenue Services.During a venue tour, the GB membersexamined the progress being made by BOCOGfor key venues, including the Main Stadium(Bird's Nest), the Aquatic Centre (Water Cube)and the Paralympic Village. "I am very delighted with the past days ofmeetings. The Governing Board had somefruitful discussions on various topics. We areparticularly impressed with the excitingprogress being made for the Beijing 2008Paralympic Games and we are confident thatthese will be marvellous Games in 2008," saidIPC President Sir Philip Craven.At the meeting, the GB received updateson the work of various IPC StandingCommittees and Councils, was informed on theprogress of the IPC Classification Code andInternational Standards, was debriefed on theTorino 2006 Winter Paralympics via videoconference from the Torino 2006 OrganisingCommittee (ComParto), as well as adopted anew Development Policy. The GB also approved membership relationissues, including the granting of provisionalmembership, received an update on thebudget 2007 as well as approved theframework of the budget for the Financial Year2008-2009, which will be the basis fordeveloping a more detailed budget to beapproved by the IPC General Assembly inNovember 2007. Furthermore, in compliance with the newIPC Sports Governance and ManagementInitiative, Chairpersons for IPC Sports TechnicalCommittees (STCs) were appointed and thefurther selection process for other positionswithin the STCs was endorsed.20OLYMPIC REVIEWwww.olympic.orgNOC NEWSThe Canadian Olympic Committee has awardedthe IOC 2006 "Sport and Community" trophy toClara Hughes. The five-times Olympic medallisthas been awarded this distinction for heroutstanding contribution and commitment topromoting and assisting the development ofsport at both national and international level. Incollaboration with the humanitarian organisationRight to Play, Hughes has collected more than430,000 Canadian dollars to assist in thedevelopment of children and young peoplethrough sport in the most disadvantaged areas of the world.The Dutch NOC has awarded the Trophy toHarrie Postma, the director and founder of theYouth Sport Fund for the Netherlands. NOCmember Mavis Carrillo presented thetrophy to him in the presence ofmembers of the association.Launched in 1996, the main aimof this fund is to help youngpeople without financialmeans to participate in sportsactivities. (More informationon "Sport andCommunity" Trophy wasalso awarded in PuertoRico to JoaquínMartínez Rousset, 89,a veteran journalist,writer and sportsleader. Still active within the NOC,as advisor to the President HéctorCardona, Martínez Rousset startedhis career in 1947 at the sports deskof the former daily El Mundo. Among hisnumerous activities within the Puerto RicanOlympic Movement, he was President of theFencing Federation and Vice-President of theTrack and Field and Softball Federations. The Algerian NOC awarded the 2007 IOC"Sport and promotion of Olympism" trophy to theMinster for National Education, BoubakeurBenzouzid, in recognition of his contribution todeveloping Olympic education programmes, and through these, promoting and spreading the Olympic ideals, on the school curriculum. NOC President Mustapha Berrafhanded over the trophy, in the presence of theformer Minister, Abdelhamid Aouchiche, thePresident of the International MediterraneanGames Committee, Amar Addadi, the women'snational handball team (who are the Africanvice-champions), and numerous personalitiesfrom Algerian sport. BelowClara Hughes received the IOC 2006"Sport and Community"trophy from theCanadian NOCIOC2006"SPORT ANDCOMMUNITY"TROPHYHONGKONGTRIPTo celebratethe 2008Games inBeijing, the10thanniversaryof the SpecialAdministrative Region ofHong Kong and the 90thanniversary of the Bank ofChina, Hong Kong Limited("BOCHK"), the NOC ofHong Kong, China, theHong Kong Olympians andMeritorious Athletes'Commission successfullyorganised the 90 YoungAthletes Olympic Tour("The Tour") - TalentedYoung Hong Kong AthletesBeijing Olympics ExchangeTour. The delegation wasled by NOC President andIOC member Timothy Fok(above), and included fourleading athletes (WongKam Po, Ho Ka Lai,Michael Tse and Yung KaYan), seven officials and 90young athletes aged from10 to 20 representing 22summer Olympic sports.Their programme includeda visit to numerous venuesfor the 2008 Games,including the NationalStadium and the NationalAquatics Centre, as well aslandmarks like theForbidden City, TiananmenSquare and the Great Wall.During a visit to theChinese NOC, the youngparticipants discussedexperiences and putquestions to the nationalweightlifting coach andathletes.

www.olympic.orgOLYMPIC REVIEW21Swiss tennis star Roger Federer (pictured below) made history by becoming the first ever recipient of three LaureusWorld Sports Awards. Federer was named Laureus WorldSportsman of the Year, for the third straight time, at the 2007Awards Ceremony in Barcelona, after another highlysuccessful 12 months in which he won Wimbledon, the US Open and the Australian Open. Tennis was the big winner in Barcelona as AmericanSerena Williams took the Laureus World Comeback of the YearAward following her Australian Open victory, and France'sAmélie Mauresmo won the Laureus World Breakthrough of theYear Award after her first two Grand Slam victories. The Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year Award went to Russian pole-vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva (pictured), while Italy won the Laureus World Team of the Year Award after theirWorld Cup success in Germany last summer.American surfer Kelly Slater was a popular winner of theLaureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year Award afterbecoming World Champion for a record eighth time.German mono-skier Martin Braxenthaler was namedLaureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability, afterwinning three gold medals in the Turin Winter ParalympicGames. The Laureus Sport for Good Award went to Britain'sLuke Dowdney for his work in founding the Fight for Peace boxing project, which helps young people from theslums of Rio de Janeiro whose lives are blighted by violence and drug trafficking.The winners are selected by the ultimate sports jury - the 44 members of the Laureus World Sports Academy, acollection of the world's greatest sportsmen and women.The Awards were presented in seven categories. The winners were:Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Roger Federer Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year: Yelena IsinbayevaLaureus World Team of the Year: Italian Men's Football TeamLaureus World Breakthrough of the Year: Amélie MauresmoLaureus World Comeback of the Year: Serena WilliamsLaureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Martin BraxenthalerLaureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Kelly SlaterLAUREUS WORLDSPORTS AWARDSOTHERNEWS